Phone : 03155462505-6

Geographical Position (Iran tourism)

Geographical Position,iran tourism
Google Map

Geographical Position, Fars Province

The Fars Province with an area of 122,608 sq. km. is located to the south of Esfahan Province. In 2006, this province had a population of 4.33 million people out of which 38.05% resided in rural areas and the rest were urban settlers. The Zagross Mountains elongated from the northwest to the southeast, have divided this province into two distinct geographical regions. According to the latest divisions, this province contains the following townships: Estahban, Abadeh, Eqleed, Bovanat, Jahrum, Darab, Sepeedan, Shiraz, Fasa, Firooz Abad, Kazeroon, Lar, Lamerd, Marvdasht, Mamasani and Nayreez.The charming city of Shiraz with about one million inhabitants, is the capital of this province. Shiraz is known worldwide for it’s cultural and historical attractions.

The mountain chain of the Zagross crosses the province from the northwest towards the southeast, and divides the province into two distinguishable parts. The first is located on north-northwest, while the second is located on the south-southeast of the province, and both are mountainous highlands. The north part starts from the mounts of Semirom, and ends at the south of Abadeh, in the point called Kooh-e-Azemat, and its arduous pass which is called Koly Kush. The southern part consists of the highlands of the Shiraz area, including the Maharloo, Kharman and Todaj Mountains. The western altitudes are the prolongation of Kohkiluyeh Province highlands towards the Mamasani Mountains, and southern altitudes includes the Darab Mountains and the Tangestan.